December Update

IMG_4318Christmas Eve is literally around the corner, but as I write, a blue sky is framed by my window and the eager sun lights up my desk. Is it beginning to feel a lot like Christmas? No, not really.

I’m not a big fan of Christmas. I like the intimacy it can bring between loved ones, but I’m usually quite relieved once it and the New Year are over and done with.

As usual, my Christmas celebrations will be quiet and in the company of close family and friends. I usually spend Christmas Eve daytime with my parents, my partner, my friend, and her family. Throughout the day, we will meet with a small group of mutual mates. If it does start to feel like Christmas, it’s often around that point, sitting together in a small village pub.


 

Ready to Shine Online

pc

‘Practitioners regularly give professional readings via email, letters, and over the telephone with the same effectiveness as if the session were in person” – Doreen Virtue

My preferred method of reading is face to face. I have often found it easier to communicate what the cards are saying when I have a person sitting in front of me.

However, whether it is a table or computer screen that sits between us, there really is little difference. Doreen, as quoted from her book ‘Angel Therapy’, is right. I have had some great responses to email and Skype readings and am often filled with a sense of knowing when I meditate over the cards beforehand.

I have brought a selection of new reading offers to my site this month. To add to my Angel Card email readings, I have three standard and well-known favourites – the three-card Past, Present & Future, the Celtic Cross (an 11-card version by Christiana Gaudet, which I use with all in-person clients)and the Calendar Spread (which I have named The Big Wheel). The latter is good for this time of year, since it uses a card for each month, but really, it doesn’t matter when you decide to book it – The Big Wheel can be requested all year round, starting on any month.

As I move into 2016, I am hoping that Skype will become the most reliable way for me to speak with clients.The computer is a great way for me to connect to people from all over the world, but also, it elevates problems with time issues – work, family considerations, and busy lives can all prevent people from getting the reading they need.

While I offer mentoring programs in person, I have managed to mentor students of all levels through Skype as well. People are often surprised by the level of intimacy that can be achieved in a session and, where possible, I try to fit in with the schedule of my clients.

If you would like to book either a reading or mentoring session with me over Skype, please do not hesitate to drop me a mail. No experience of tarot or oracle card reading is necessary for mentoring and a program can be devised to suit your needs. Skype readings can be booked in 30-minute slots.


 

Merry Deckmass!

decks 02A good handful of decks have fallen through the letterbox of late. Most are Christmas presents that my partner and parents have ordered for me, which are now wrapped up and under the tree. Generally, I can never think of much I want on request, but there are always decks I’m interested in acquiring for one reason or another.

I’d initially banked on the Thelema Tarot, but after seeing so many sets with badly cut corners (or some corners not rounded at all!), I decided to knock that one off of my list. Instead, I’m receiving both sets of Soul Cards (Deborah Koff-Chapin) from my partner. I owned a set many years ago but traded it. I feel they are a better fit at this point of my life. I am looking forward to finding my own meanings in the images, since there is no guide book and the decks are 100% intuitive. The paintings have touched me for a long time and I have considered buying both packs, a second time around, for many years.

decks 01As well as these oracles, I’m aware that the Mary Queen of Angels, Healing with the Fairies (both by Doreen Virtue), and Mother Mary Oracle (Alana Fairchild) are also on their way. Doreen’s cards will be perfect for some of the readings I offer in my shop and after seeing Chloe McCracken’s work with the Mother Mary pack, I took the plunge and told my mother I’d really like a copy.

Ahead of Christmas, I also received The Fountain Tarot. I’d looked at this way before its release, but hadn’t gotten around to purchasing. I was very fortunate to receive it as a kind gift from Emily Ellershaw (co-creator and author of The Chronicles of Destiny Fortune Cards). It was a total surprise, which I was very touched by. To receive a deck as a present is a wonderful thing, since when in use, it always reminds me of the person who gifted it.

I have been using The Fountain Tarot in my Instagram draws and videos. In 2016, I hope to review some of these new packs here on the blog.

Are you expecting or hoping for any new tarots or oracles this Christmas? Judging by this video from my friend, Donnaleigh De LaRose, I’m not the only one!

 


 

acecupsI have enjoyed 2015. As well as reading for hundreds of great clients, I had the opportunity to meet some tarot creators (Chloe McCracken and Cilla Conway) in person, work with Christiana Gaudet, and have connected with many new tarot enthusiasts, readers, and people interested in the cards.

For this month, our card is Ace of Cups. It asks us to give love freely, but also reminds us that if we want to receive love, we first have to unlock our heart and let go of bitterness, regret, or fear.

I would like to thank everyone who I have read for, who has commented on my posts here and on social media, and those who have supported me throughout 2015.

I wish you all the very best for the holidays and hope you have a tarotastic Christmas!

Print

 

 

 

If you have been inspired by or wish to comment on any of the subjects in this update, please feel free to comment below.

For in-person or party bookings, Skype and email readings, please either visit my site to purchase or contact me directly for further information at steven@tiferettarot.com

Ace of cups Illustration from The Fountain Tarot by Jonathan Saiz

6 thoughts on “December Update

  1. I was tempted by the Mother Mary too but in Unsettled Land I find I can’t order anything because I’m not going to be here!

    I would like the Wooden Tarot I think. I just like things with a natural history bent. Apart from not having the money I don’t have an address (did I mention that??) so I’m in limbo for a couple of months. I wanted the Destiny is Brewing cards (lenormand which Chloe also mentioned and I’ve had on my wish list for over a year), but I can’t afford it. Maybe next year??

    Like

    • Lots of great titles for 2016 and a new address, I’d say …

      The Wooden Tarot does look very nice. I have seen it about quite a bit on Instagram.

      Mother Mary really is something else. I can’t think of another oracle quite like it. The images are beautiful, but have a deepness to them. I have been using it in conjunction with the Soul Cards, since the art styles really compliment.

      Like

    • Thank you, Sharyn! That means a lot. It has been a great journey and I am glad that we are all still on it. Your work with cards has been enlightening and consistent. I enjoy to read your blog and see which decks you are using.

      Like

  2. Hi Steve: thank you for your newsletters, Tarot Tips, postings on FB and Instagram. Thank you for your kind wishes for happy holidays. Christmas is not really a favorite of mine either–it certainly used to be when I was younger but now that my family and friends are scattered I find that Christmas is just a commercial nuisance! I like thinking of you having a nice quiet day with your partner, family and friends. All the best to you! I’ve really enjoyed your online readings. Sally

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I understand the commercial nuisance, Sally. I guess that most things become a drain when you do them over and over, including Christmas.

      Thank you so much for your kind words and support. It means a lot to know that people appreciate and get something from my posts here and elsewhere online.

      Hope you are having a happy new year!

      Like

Leave a Reply

