May Update

Screen Shot 2015-05-21 at 19.25.16 copyThis month seems to have disappeared before my eyes. Time does fly when we are busy and I have had a lot to keep me occupied throughout May.

A New Vision

May has been my busiest month for reading this year so far. I have spent more time at Talking Spirit (West Malling, Kent), which has meant meeting new clients and catching up with those who have returned for another session. There is always a satisfaction in knowing that someone enjoyed their reading and decided to come and see me again. In recent times, I have read for more men than ever before. It is often women who book to see me, but it has been great to read for a large handful of young guys, all of whom have had open minds and have found guidance in their session. Many have been intrigued by the cards and how they work.

As we move towards the end of the month, Talking Spirit is changing. The original focus of Talking Spirits owner and founder, Tracy Sharman, was to create a base for reading, learning, healing, and events. She has decided to focus her attention on just those elements, which means shutting down the shop and taking the team to a reading room within the same location. The new space is lighter, intimate and should attract more passing trade. Providing a warm and professional place for Tarot and Rune readings, Astrology consultation,  healing, and mediumship, we hope this new vision will strengthen the business and become an exciting new chapter within Talking Spirit’s growth. We will still sell books and decks but our biggest hope is to bring new life and fresh ideas to our workshops and groups. There is a lot of experience and support within our team of eight, so we are all feeling extremely positive about the move. I have already spoken to one team member about combining our personal strengths and buddying up to create a joint workshop.


Creative Ups and Downs

As I mentioned last month, I have been looking into potential printers for my Spirit Within the Shadows Tarot. This month, I learned that if something appears too good to be true, it usually is. I nearly bit a printers arm off for what was a very good quote, only to find that somewhere along the line, someone had miscalculated the job. I am not terribly bothered about it at this stage, because I know that things will happen when the time is right. A friend is approaching another printing company for me, so we will see how that pans out.

BlogBrandIn terms of my next creative outing, I have begun. I had originally decided on a collage project but after two try-outs, I quickly realised that my work was lacking the depth and soul I’d initially hoped for. So far, I have approached four people for modelling. I have sent them photographs for inspiration and have asked if they’d be able to replicate the examples, using them self as a subject. The results are starting to arrive back, but instead of photo-collaging them, I am now using them as source material for drawings. Drawing with pen in my scribbly-and-scratchy style brings a life to the people I’m collaborating with in a way I couldn’t achieve through digital-collage. There is something more intimate about my relationship with the drawings using this method of creation. The example of my Page of Cups (right, modelled by Branden Van Tassell, is coloured in Photoshop.


We never stop learning …

I have received some wonderful feedback from my sessions during this and last month. In some cases, people have generously overpaid me because their reading has provided exactly what they have needed. There has been a lot of emotion at the reading table, which can be very cathartic for a client.

gaudetAs pleased as I have been with the response to my appointments, this is not a time to sit back and rest on my laurels. It is exactly the time to seek out more knowledge and gain more experience. So as I move towards June, I begin my own course of further tarot education by training with reader, teacher and author Christiana Gaudet.  This will be the first time I have received 1-1 mentoring within the world of tarot, so I am excited about how I can use it to my greatest benefit and what it will open up for me personally and professionally. We have had our first session this week, and I can already see my understanding and work with the tarot stepping up a notch. I am honoured that she has found time within her busy schedule to do this with me.

As the warm rays of the sun return to the UK and my work, I am looking forward to the months ahead – to reading for more clients, to continuing with Christiana’s mentoring, to working on more tarot designs, and to attending the Tarot Festival in London in July.

As always, thank you to everyone who drops by. I really do appreciate the many comments and observations left here on the blog. If you would like to comment on any of the stories this month, I would love to hear from you.

Print

 

 

If you would like to book an in person reading with me, contact Lorraine at Talking Spirit on 07930 539 004. Talking Spirit is situated at The Reading Room, Mill Yard (Swan Street), West Malling, ME19 6LP.

If you would like to book a Skype reading, please contact me at steven@tiferettarot.com for appointment information and payment details.

For email readings, courses and other product, please check out my site at tiferettarot.com

You can also find me on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter.

Book covers from ‘Fortune Stella’ and ‘Tarot Tour Guide’ by Christiana Gaudet, published by Jupiter Gardens Press

9 thoughts on “May Update

  1. Hi Steve! I love it how we get each month a sneek peek into your personal life. It is so great to read how your tarot business is expanding on a regular base and that the feedback you get is so positive and affirming.
    I am amazed by the drawing you’ve made. Honestly I haven’t touched my new drawing pens yet. It feels a bit daunting to try. But this is very inspiring!

    Like

    • I enjoy to write these posts. In many ways, it reminds me of compiling a gratitude list – in this instance, I am grateful not only for the things I have been able to accomplish, but the selfless support of people like Tracy, Christiana, Branden and everyone else who encourages me and lends a hand on this journey. I’m really working hard at the moment and all of this takes up a lot of time, but great clients, the team, and people (such as those who drop in here and on social media) have made it a varied and wonderful experience this far.

      I hope you get to those pens! And I hope my piece helps to inspire that. You have wonderful skill and vision. The first marking is the hardest. Once you’ve done that, you’ll be on your way 😀

      Like

    • Hi Sharyn 🙂 I’m hoping that we will be able to combine our talents and go to different places. Everyone in the team is so respectful and supportive of each other, which is great. The new chapter at Talking Spirit is exciting! 🙂

      Like

  2. Exciting times, indeed. I’ll look forward to hearing more about your mentoring from Christiana. And I love your Page of Cups: no lack of emotion there!

    Like

    • Thanks Chlöe. Once again, it feels as though I am on the brink of a new and exciting chapter. I am really enjoying my connection with Christiana and I am sure that my sessions with her her will provoke posts and get more mentions here.

      Glad you like the Page of Cups. The whole of this card deck feels as though it starts with him, pushing himself out of the water and being born. His youth and innocence and openness to love is what motivates him to move. He is saturated with emotion, which is how I have always seen him. I feel a strong connecting to this drawing. As I create it, I am trying to use models who a) feel right for the cards and b) who I have some kind of connection/relationship with.

      Like

Leave a Reply

