Your Card for Today: Transformation

TransformationFor this week, I will be using Oracle of the Angels by Mario Dugulay.

As the first card of the week, I have drawn Transformation.

Within this image, we see a person connected to the Earth. But this is not an image of vibrancy and abundance. Where the ground beneath her has cracked, so has she. Her limp body is bent forward and we can see that the tree behind has shed its leaves, appearing skeletal.

The woman’s figure begins to crumble. But from her passing, something new grows. We can see her spirit leaving her body and taking shape within the rays of light. It glides upwards, surrounded by butterflies of all colours. The butterfly is often used to symbolise transformation, because of its impressive process of metamorphosis. From egg, to larvae, to pupa and then from the cocoon, the butterfly emerges like the spirit of the woman shown in this illustration.

We all transform. I am sure that none of us are the person we was three years ago. With experience and life’s lessons, we all change and contort. Our time here on Earth is a series of cycles, even though not as recognisably dramatic as the ones which the butterfly goes through in such a short amount of time. I have read that the average lifetime of a butterfly is one month.

This card has as much to do with endings as it does new beginnings, since it suggests that in order to move forward, we must shed something we no longer need. In Oracle of the Angels, this is something we are encouraged to embrace rather than fear. Think of the butterfly: the butterfly doesn’t grieve over what she has moved on from but instead, invites the next cycle into her life without question. She encourages you to do the same.

This card suggests that we are all going through our own personal transformation. For today, become aware of what yours is and open your arms up to the fresh and new as this new week begins. What will you leave behind? What will you embrace?

Print

 

 

Illustrations from Oracle of the Angels by Mario Duguay, published by Blue Angel Publishing, 2014

6 thoughts on “Your Card for Today: Transformation

  1. I love this post!! Love love love it!! First of all, I’ve always viewed the butterfly as a huge symbol of the transformation that I went through growing up. I have two butterfly tattoos because of this. 🙂
    Secondly, I’m going through a massive transformation on a spiritual level at the moment so when I read this post, I felt warm and fuzzy inside as I felt it was written just for me.
    Maybe the gluten-free duet is part of that transformation 😉

    Thanks Steven. Have an awesome day x

    Like

    • Thanks Colleen 🙂

      I bought this deck on a whim, but I am glad I did. I have already had a few private messages from people who have said it makes a lot of sense for them today (and this week). It has some strong connections to my own day too.

      I am so glad that this card has meaning for you. When interpreting it, the card feels a lot deeper than I’d initially thought it would be. The pastel colours could be viewed in a light way but they sit well against the stone-like cracking figure and give the card depth. And yes, I see what you mean about the diet. Although hard, it can be difficult to embrace a difficult future but this is made all the harder by continually looking behind at what is going or gone. Of course, this does not minimise the loss, but it is a way of trying to maximise and appreciate the next part of the journey. With all difficulty comes teachings and understanding.

      Hope you have a wonderful day too! x

      Like

  2. What a great whim this was Steve. Often with tarot I dislike the Death card being called Transformation. but here is with this deck it is so fitting. I’ve googled some more pictures and is is a lovely deck indeed

    Like

    • I got a lot from this card today and it really was accurate – many details within the imagery of the card made a lot of sense in situations today.

      I also dislike that in tarot. Death is death. But here, this card describes the step afterwards, and beautifully so. I can imagine finding a lot to discuss with someone when this card turns up, noting its positive aspects.

      I will be drawing with this deck all week, so hopefully more interesting and thought provoking cards!

      Like

Leave a Reply

