Your Card for Today: Justice

justFor today, we have Justice.

In this image, a man stands on a high rock. Holding scales in his left hand, he stares up at his sword, which he holds to the sky. The sword stands for truth and the scales represent balance.

As a card of the day, Justice represents fairness. The man in this image assesses the facts and administers both reward and punishment accordingly. His rulings are always just and their origin stems from those things we have said and done.

I remember something I heard in a lecture at The Kabbalah Centre many years ago. It was about cause and effect and labelled The Suddenly Syndrome. We were reminded by the lecturer that we will not wake one day to find a mature Oak tree in our front garden which had not been there the day before. Things take time to grow and do not turn up unexpectedly. Similarly, we do not suddenly fall out of love, or suddenly lose a client, or suddenly get out of shape. Every effect in life has a cause, often disguised by time.

For today, think about where you are at. Did you arrive here unexpectedly or is your ‘lot’ a result of those things you did or didn’t do? Are you celebrating a wealth of some kind, due to the effort you’ve put in? Or are you feeling the pain of a dispute you are actually the root-cause of?

Think about those seeds you can plant in life today and take responsibility for them. What action or word will make a difference to your future for the better?

Print

 

 

© Steven Bright Tiferet Tarot 2015

Illustration by Steven Bright

 

10 thoughts on “Your Card for Today: Justice

  1. What a great interpretation of Justice! I often find it difficult to read this one. The suddenly syndrome will be a welcome addition to my tarot journal!

    Like

    • Ah, I am glad that it helps, Ellen. I always remember the Suddenly Syndrome when this card comes up. We always think power comes with The Magician but we have so much at our fingertips with this card!

      Like

  2. Oh yeah, that’s a great interpretation. So true, so true about “suddenly” getting out of shape. The fact that he’s on a hill, like a pedestal setting himself above others can be good or bad.

    Funny, when I saw him standing there I kept thinking of St-Just (Just/Justice) the horrible character from the French Revolution and The Terror, doling out “justice” and sending many innocents to the guillotine. Scary, scary stuff from The Committee of Public Safety. The reverse of this card, a reminder of blindfolds and bias.

    Like

    • That’s interting. I can see him in a different light. Definitely a reversed Justice, yes. Those blindfolds you mention are like blind spots which people choose not to see when they lack responsibility for their actions.

      Like

  3. I too applaud your “suddenly syndrome” interpretation. I know I can live in sleepwalk mode, completely oblivious instead of aware. But your Justice has his blindfold off an demands that I disperse with my illusions and delusions.

    Like

    • I am really glad that I added that part to the past now! The idea originally comes from Yehuda Berg in his book The Power of Kabbalah. I have recommended that book to more people than I can remember. I should get commission, haha.

      But yes, there is power in removing the blindfold. This card hands us the sword. I like this card very much. And I find my own version to be more approachable and easier to comprehend than many. Any one of us could be that person in the rocks.

      Like

  4. Hi, Steven,
    Let me get on the bandwagon and say that I also like the “Suddenly Syndrome.”
    I have often referred to this (without knowing this term) when I worked within a company, and people were terminated. In most cases, the termination was the effect of the person’s own causing (repeated tardiness and absenteeism, and theft, among other reasons). Most often, these people would react as if it was “sudden,” but it was something that was being created over time.
    This will be an easy way to remember the Law of Cause and Effect.

    Like

    • I think I spoke to you about Yehuda Berg’s Kabbalah books before, didn’t I? About fear, possibly. They are very readable and there are many new ways of looking at things just like this one. I always believe that taking responsibility where and when we can is a very freeing thing 🙂 For today, this asks me ‘What got me to where I am?’ and ‘What can I do to get where I want to be?’.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, you did mention Berg’s before (you’ve got a great memory!).
        I also have found taking personal responsibility very freeing.
        In my past, I was a chronic blamer–of people and circumstances–and one day, I had an epiphany that, for me, blaming was the exact opposite–that I was actually shirking responsibility.
        Those are great questions that you ask yourself, too!

        Like

  5. Well, Yehuda also wrote a book called ‘Beyond Blame’, which is interesting (and affordable).

    Blame limits people more than they probably think. It keeps you in a position of non-action and victim-mentality. It’s harder (and less personally-fulfilling) to keep dodging the bullets and directing them at everyone and everything else. When we don’t take responsibility for things, we miss out on the chance to learn from experience and move on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

