The Spirit within the Shadows

v_ag8teA

Matt Harris of Ashes and Wine Tarot

With the completion of my silhouette tarot deck in view, I began speaking with fellow-reader Matt Harris (of Ashes and Wine Tarot) about him conducting an interview with me last week.

From his blog, Matt hosts a series called Tarot-View, where he speaks with tarot readers, artists, authors, and enthusiasts. In his last interview, he spoke with the author and artist of the soon to be released Beautiful Creatures Tarot. With this in mind, I was flattered that he’d want to find out about my own tarot creation.

coverAt the beginning of last week, Matt put some great questions together and we took it from there. It was a fun collaboration, even though it is a lot harder to answer questions about myself than I thought it would be! You can read his interview relating to my The Spirit within the Shadows Tarot here

I enjoy reading Matt’s reflections and commentary on tarot, so it was an honour to be interviewed for his site. I’d like to thank him for putting in so much effort and supporting me with this project.

You can find out more about Matt and his work on his site, his blog, Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

Print

 

12 thoughts on “The Spirit within the Shadows

  1. Hi Steve! How wonderful your deck is nearly finished. What an amazing accomplishment. The title of the deck is very appealing. Who doesn’t want to find the gift of Spirit in the Shadows? 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks Ellen.

      Yes, it has been a slog. I am in the 9 of Wands place, where I am nearly there but the last stretch seems to be the hardest. I have had to go back and redo a lot of them, which takes so much time. Each card has about five files to it so it is a long and drawn-out process (even just to save them all).

      It took me hours to come up with a title and that one just filtered in before bed. It feels right, doesn’t it? So many tarot titles with ‘Spirit’ and ‘Shadow’ in them but I thought this sounded all-together new and fresh.

      Like

  2. Titles are so difficult, especially when you know it’s forever. Although remember the Adflatus Tarot became the Revelations Tarot?

    That is great that Matt interviewed you. I like when the community whirls around, chatting and enjoying cards.

    Like

    • Yes, I thought about that (the Adflatus). There is a few others which changed name too, I think.

      I was flattered that Matt asked. There are some really good people about, so it was a pleasure to collaborate with one of them 🙂

      Like

  3. What a wonderful interview (and a nice plus to discover Matt’s blog :)). I am another person who would love to be able to purchase your deck in physical form; it does lend itself to every man or woman. It reminds me a bit of the International Icon, but “The Spirit within the Shadows” feels much warmer, personal and slightly out-of-the-box (from an RWS standpoint). Have you thought about self-publishing? I used printerstudios.com for my Lojong deck, and they allowed me to purchase a few decks at a time, which was good for me since I am on a limited budget. I’ll be cheerleading on the sidelines for your deck to get published in any way possible! 🙂

    Like

    • It’s a pleasure to point more people in Matt’s direction 🙂

      I have considered self-publishing but I haven’t looked into any possibility properly yet. I am still fiddling with the last bits of the deck and should be completely finished this week. There always seems to be something to go back and re-do, but I guess you could be doing that forever.

      I will look into Printerstudios. Your Lojong deck looks fantastic, by the way. I have seen it on Judy’s blog, as well as your own. I am also on a limited budget so it will be good to have more options.

      Thanks so much for your ideas. Everybody’s support really is much appreciated.

      Like

  4. Whew! A finished deck. Not an easy task, I’ve been trying to make one for about the time it takes to make two. Hahahaha! Still not even started… All my sketches end up being trashed even though I like them.

    Applause, applause!

    Excited to see where it’ll go, without doubt I will end up getting a copy when it is accessible. : )

    Like

    • Well, it took me many, many, many years to get to a point where I didn’t quit by the tenth card. Once you know you can do all 78, you can do another 78.

      Thanks for your kind words ML. You have wonderful artistic skills, I dare say your tarot-world will make it onto screen or paper one day.

      I really hope this deck becomes accessible. I can imagine working with it myself. I will need to get clued up about all of this soon. So many things on this week’s list!

      Thanks for dropping by!

      Like

  5. So cool to be getting the message about your deck out! Every little will help with finding a publisher, if you decide not to self-publish. Now, off to read the interview 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks Chloe! It is really nice to hear so many favourable responses to it.

      I still have all of my options open so will think about how to proceed. One hurdle overcome, another mountain to climb!

      Hope you enjoyed the interview!

      Like

Leave a Reply

